Yes, you can die of a broken heart

This post resonated with me, I have had chest pains since Fiona died and it’s hard to know whether to dismiss it as part of grief or see a doctor. Since running is part of my “therapy”, I am going to make an appt to make sure it’s safe for vigorous exercise. I definitely feel a part of me died with Fiona. The part that was normal, a competent parent, a capable employee, a good friend, a person of confident faith; that person was shattered when Fiona died, and has to be rebuilt with God’s help.

Grief: One Woman's Perspective

When Carrie Fisher died this week, followed shortly by her mother, Debbie Reynolds, many people wrote about Debbie Reynolds dying of a broken heart. One headline I read proclaimed, “Debbie Reynolds Last Words…’I Want to be with Carrie’.” She was at her son’s house, planning her daughter’s funeral when she supposedly spoke these words and then died fifteen minutes later. Another article quoted Debbie Reynolds’ book, Unsinkable: “It’s not natural to outlive your child…This has always been my greatest fear. Too many mothers have lost their children, for thousands of different reasons. I don’t know if I could survive that.”

I could almost see a collective nodding in agreement from every person who has had a child die – understanding what it’s like to want to join your child following his or her death, and knowing that it’s not natural to outlive your child. In her column in the Washington Post, On Parenting

View original post 1,183 more words

Leave a Reply

